Report of:	Interim Managing Director
Contact Officer:	Louise Griffiths
Contact Number:	01543 464 553
Portfolio Leader:	Leader of the Council
Report Track:	Extraordinary Council: 19/05/21

Extraordinary Council 19 May 2021 Honorary Aldermen / Alderwomen

1 Purpose of Report

1.1 To consider conferring the title of Honorary Alderman/Alderwoman on former Councillors Gordon Alcott, Diane Todd, Zaphne Stretton and Patricia Ansell.

2 Recommendation(s)

- 2.1 That Council confers the title of Honorary Alderman/Alderwoman on those former Councillors nominated for the title, in recognition of their eminent services to the Council.
- 2.2 That each Honorary Alderman/Alderwoman be presented with a certificate of recognition at the next meeting of full Council on Wednesday 14 July 2021.

3 Key Issues and Reasons for Recommendations

Key Issues

3.1 Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 permits a principal Council by resolution passed by not less than two thirds of the members voting at a meeting specially convened for that purpose, to confer the title of Honorary Alderman or Alderwoman on persons who have, rendered eminent services to the Council as past Members of that Council, but who are not then members of the Council.

Reasons for Recommendations

3.2 All of the above-named former Councillors meet the required criteria to be considered for the title of Honorary Alderman / Alderwoman (Appendix 1).

4 Relationship to Corporate Priorities

4.1 Not applicable.

5 Report Detail

- 5.1 Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 states that a principal Council may, by resolution passed by not less than two-thirds of the members voting thereon at a meeting of the Council specially convened for the purpose with notice of the object, confer the title of Honorary Alderman or Honorary Alderwoman on persons who have, in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent services to the Council as past Members of that Council, but who are not then members of the Council.
- 5.2 An Honorary Alderman or Honorary Alderwoman of a principal Council may attend and take part in such Civic Ceremonies as the Council may from time to time decide, but shall not, as such have the right
 - a) to attend meetings of the Council or a Committee of the Council.
 - b) to receive any such allowances or other payments under section 173 to 176 of the Local Government Act 1972; or
 - c) whilst serving as a Councillor, be entitled to be addressed as Alderman/Alderwoman or to attend or take part in any civic ceremonies of the Council as an Alderman/Alderwoman.
- 5.3 The service of each of the named former Councillors is set out below:

Mr. Gordon Alcott

- Served on the former Cannock Urban District Council and Chase District Council from 1970 2021 (51 years).
- Held office of Vice-Chairman and Chairman of the Council, Leader and Deputy Leader of the Council and a member of the Cabinet.

Mrs. Diane Todd

- Served on Cannock Chase District Council from 2006 2021 (15 years).
- Member of the Cabinet.

Mrs. Zaphne Stretton MBE

- Served on Cannock Chase District Council from 1991 to 1999, 2000 2003, 2004
 2010 and 2012 to 2021 (26 years).
- Held office of Vice-Chairman and Chairman of the Council.

Mrs. Patricia Ansell

- Served on Cannock Chase District Council from 1986 to 1990 and from 2003 to 2011 (12 years).
- Held office of Vice-Chairman and Chairman of the Council.
- Member of the Cabinet.

6 Implications

6.1 Financial

All costs associated with awarding this honour can be met from existing Civic budgets.

6.2 Legal

The legal implications are set out in the report.

6.3 Human Resources

None.

6.4 Risk Management

None.

6.5 Equality & Diversity

None.

6.6 Climate Change

None.

7 Appendices to the Report

Appendix 1: Criteria and Protocol for appointing Honorary Aldermen and Honorary Alderwomen of Cannock Chase.

Previous Consideration

None.

Background Papers

29 November 2017 - Council Report 'Honorary Aldermen and Honorary Alderwomen'.

Criteria and Protocol for Appointing Honorary Aldermen and Honorary Alderwomen of Cannock Chase

Criteria

- The title of Honorary Alderman / Alderwoman is to only be awarded following retirement of a Councillor, either by choice or at the will of the electorate.
- To be considered for the title of Honorary Alderman / Alderwoman, a retired Councillor must have served at least twelve years (three terms in office) on Cannock Chase District Council (though the terms do no need to be consecutive) and be considered to have rendered eminent services to the District.
- An Honorary Alderman / Alderwoman would not be entitled to receive any allowance or other payment.

Process

- Nominations for this award must be made in writing to the Managing Director and should be received no later than two weeks prior to the Council's Annual General Meeting (AGM) in May.
- Consideration to confer the title of Honorary Alderman / Alderwoman on retired Councillors will only be determined once per year, at a special meeting of the Council to be convened on the day of the Council's AGM in May (where necessary).
- Nominations must be made by a serving Councillor on Cannock Chase District Council.
- Following approval to confer the title, an address confirming the title of Honorary Alderman / Alderwoman will be presented by the Chairman of the Council at a subsequent meeting of the Council.
- Names of Honorary Aldermen / Alderwomen will be inscribed on an Honours Board located in the Civic Suite.