Introducing Cannock Chase Council

Deer on Cannock Chase

Cannock Chase Council is a local authority in the south of Staffordshire serving over 100,000 residents living in the towns of Rugeley, Cannock and Hednesford, and the large communities of Brereton and Ravenhill, Bridgtown, Heath Hayes, Norton Canes and Rawnsley. It covers a significant part of the popular Cannock Chase Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB).

The Council provides a wide range of services with the key ones being economic development, planning and building control, waste collection and recycling, parks and open spaces, environmental health, electoral administration, leisure services (managed by Inspiring Healthy Lifestyles), housing benefit and council tax reduction, collection of council tax and business rates, maintaining car parks, and supporting the homeless.

The Political composition of the Council is comprised of 41 Councillors in 15 wards.

Geographically the district is well connected to the motorway and rail networks and as such has strong economic links with the West Midlands conurbation.

Last Updated:

A to Z of Services