About Us

Cannock Chase Council deer sculpture

Introducing Cannock Chase Council

Cannock Chase Council is a local authority in the south of Staffordshire serving over 100,000 residents living in the towns of Rugeley, Cannock and Hednesford, and the large communities of Brereton and Ravenhill, Bridgtown, Heath Hayes, Norton Canes and Rawnsley. It covers a significant part of the popular Cannock Chase National Landscape.

The Council came into being on 1 April 1974, following the merger of the Cannock and Rugeley Urban District Councils and the inclusion of Brindley Heath from the former Lichfield Rural District Council.

The Council provides a wide range of services with the key ones being economic development, planning and building control, waste collection and recycling, parks and open spaces, environmental health, electoral administration, leisure services (managed by Inspiring Healthy Lifestyles), housing benefit and council tax reduction, collection of council tax and business rates, maintaining car parks, and supporting the homeless.

The Council has 36 elected councillors representing 12 wards. You can find out more about the political composition of the Council and its Leadership Team by following the links highlighted.

Geographically the district is well connected to the motorway and rail networks and as such has strong economic links with the West Midlands conurbation.

The Council is comprised of Councillors and Officers.  The Councillors are democratically elected representatives responsible for setting the policy direction and budgets of the Council. Officers support the work of the Councillors. The Council receives its funding through the following primary sources: council tax, business rates, fees and charges, and specific grant funding.

Within this section you will find more details about how the Council operates and what functions and services it is responsible for.

Please click here to view the Corporate Plan


Last Updated:

A to Z of Services